The Torres del Paine National Park

The Torres del Paine National Park.

Torres del Paine National Park, one of the most visited parks in Chile, encompasses mountains, glaciers, lakes, and rivers in southern Chilean Patagonia. The Cordillera del Paine is the centrepiece of the park. It lies in a transition area between the Magellanic sub-polar forests and the Patagonian Steppes. The park is located 112 km (70 mi) north of Puerto Natales and 312 km (194 mi) north of Punta Arenas. The park borders Bernardo O’Higgins National Park to the west and the Los Glaciares National Park to the north in Argentine territory. Paine means “blue” in the native Tehuelche language and is pronounced PIE-nay. In 2013, it measured approximately 181,414 hectares. The park averages around 252,000 visitors a year, of which 54% are foreign tourists, who come from all over the world. It is one of the 11 protected areas of the Magallanes Region and Chilean Antarctica; together with four national parks, three national reserves, and three national monuments, comprise about 51% of the land of the region (6,728,744 hectares). The Torres del Paine are the distinctive three granite peaks of the Paine mountain range or Paine Massif. They extend up to 2,500 meters above sea level, and are joined by the Cuernos del Paine. The area also boasts valleys, rivers such as the Paine, lakes, and glaciers. The well-known lakes include Grey, Pehoé, Nordenskiöld, and Sarmiento. The glaciers, including Grey, Pingo and Tyndall, belong to the Southern Patagonia Ice Field.

Torres del Paine Circuit Map, Chile, South America. 52 mile (84 km) hike. Mirador Torres, Garner Pass, Las Torres, Glacier Grey, Lago Grey


Read Article Here: