The Silence Breakers

The Silence Breakers.

The #MeToo Movement has been selected as the 2017 TIME Person of the Year? Who are they? Time wrote, “The people who have broken their silence on sexual assault and harassment span all races, all income classes, all occupations, and virtually all corners of the globe. Their collective anger has spurred immediate and shocking results.” Specifically, Time’s cover includes Ashley Judd, Taylor Swift, Susan Fowler, Adama Iwu and Isabel Pascual. Ashley Judd and Rose McGowan, the actresses whose stunning accusations against movie mogul Harvey Weinstein helped lead to his downfall; and activist Tarana Burke, creator of the #MeToo movement, along with the Hollywood star who amplified it on social media, Alyssa Milano. “The galvanizing actions of the women on our cover … along with those of hundreds of others, and of many men as well, have unleashed one of the highest-velocity shifts in our culture since the 1960s,” Time’s editor in chief, Edward Felsenthal, told NBC’s “Today” show. The award winners include actors, housekeepers, lobbyists, engineers and others. Runners-up include Special Counsel Robert Mueller, Chinese President Xi Jinping, North Korean leader Kim Jong Un, former NFL quarterback Colin Kaepernick, and Wonder Woman director Patty Jenkins.

Read Article Here: